top of page
  • Writer's pictureICAP

How Idaho Business for Education graded the 2022 Legislature

Kevin Richert 04/06/2022

Nearly half of the state’s lawmakers received a perfect grade on Idaho Business for Education’s report card on the 2022 Legislature.

IBE based its legislative scorecard on five laws that passed this session: the higher education budget; a literacy law that could expand all-day kindergarten; an incentive program for teachers in rural and high-poverty districts; funding for the Idaho Opportunity Scholarship; and funding for $15 million in federal child care grants.

Lawmakers received 20 percentage points for each yes vote.

In addition, House Education Committee members received 20 percentage points if they voted against a state-funded private school scholarship bill — or lost 20 percentage points if they supported it. House Education killed the bill.

All told, 44 lawmakers received a 100% score, and seven House Education members scored 120%.

Meanwhile, eight lawmakers scored 0%, and three House Education members came in at minus 20%.

The full scores are available here.

But here are the scores for lawmakers on the Legislature’s education committees:

Senate Education Committee: Chairman Steven Thayn, R-Emmett, 80%; Vice Chairman Dave Lent, R-Idaho Falls, 80%; Robert Blair, R-Kendrick, 100%; David Nelson, D-Moscow, 100%; Janie Ward-Engelking, D-Boise, 100%; Jim Woodward, R-Sagle, 100%; Carl Crabtree, R-Grangeville, 80%; Kevin Cook, R-Idaho Falls, 60%; Lori Den Hartog, R-Meridian, 60%.

All nine Senate Education members are seeking re-election in 2022.

House Education: Chairman Lance Clow, R-Twin Falls, 120%; Vice Chair Ryan Kerby, R-New Plymouth, 120%; Steve Berch, D-Boise, 120%; Lori McCann, R-Lewiston, 120%; John McCrostie, D-Garden City, 120%; Sally Toone, D-Gooding, 120%; Julie Yamamoto, R-Caldwell, 120%; Gary Marshall, R-Idaho Falls, 80%; Judy Boyle, R-Midvale, 40%; Barbara Ehardt, R-Idaho Falls, 20%; Codi Galloway, R-Boise, 20%; Ron Mendive, R-Coeur d’Alene, 20%; Gayann DeMordaunt, R-Eagle, -20%; Dorothy Moon, R-Stanley, -20%; Tony Wisniewski, R-Post Falls, -20%.

Three House Education members — Marshall, McCrostie and Toone — are not seeking re-election. Moon is running for secretary of state. Galloway is running for state Senate in her legislative district.

12 views0 comments


bottom of page